Summer Summary

It’s not every day that you have the chance to see God do incredible things. You know He’s at work at all times, but you don’t always see the fruit. This summer, my mind was blown by all that God was doing in the lives of those around me.

Camp 2  I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of your     wonderful deeds. ~ Psalm 9:1

 During the week of Bible camp, I had the privilege of serving right alongside the Polish counselors. These younCampg men and    women are strong, dedicated, and talented servants of Christ. Without a doubt, God could easily use them to turn Poland upside down with the gospel! There was such unity across the entire leadership staff (Polish, American, young, old, etc.), and together we served the campers. By the end of the week, 7 campers accepted Christ and many more made changes to walk closer to God.

Girls

Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor
~ Romans 12:10

 

Pola
The next week of ministry was jam-packed. While my team of 3 American girls and the  English teachers who live in Poland taught at English Camp, I filled in at the Preschool. This was special for me. I loved seeing my former coworkers. I loved spending time with and teaching my former students. I loved seeing the growth and hearing how God was using the preschool. It’s taken 3 long years in this predominately Roman Catholic area, but the reputation of this Protestant preschool has gone from suspect to outstanding. The Head of Education in Jaworzno recommends it, saying it’s the best preschool in the area!

English Camp Kris 5DCwas a success, and one girl accepted Christ. Even more children heard the gospel in the afternoons as we worked with Child Evangelism Fellowship (CEF) to run 5 Day Clubs in 4 different parks. Here again, I saw God alive and active in Poland. What a privilege to work with these knowledgeable and gifted men and women of CEF, and be a part of their ministry! Parents and children were more receptive than ever before. We had clubs that were as small as 6 children and as large as 40.

Mariola
Another place where I witnessed God’s hand was in the home of my friends Kris and Mariola Kolt. I recognize that it is  impossible for most people to know a missionary they support as well as I know the Kolts. I’m incredibly thankful for the opportunity. Seeing God use them first-hand has had one of the greatest impacts on my life. They extend hospitality, love, and correction in a way that I rarely see elsewhere. At points this summer, 14 people were living in their home, and they cared for all of them like their own children. While they impacted many this summer, I will mention only 2 of them.

PeppePeppe, their 9 year-old grandson from Canada, came to stay with Kris and Mariola for the summer. They have been sharing the gospel with him for years during visits and over skype. One day, completely on his own, he trusted in Christ. He’s been growing like a weed. He began praying for his parents’ salvation, asking me to tell him Bible stories, and listening carefully to his grandparents’ instructions.
Andrzej (the young man on the right) is another trophy of grace. He comes from a difficult background and a life of self-indulgence. Miraculously, the correctional facility where Andrzej lives gave Kris and Mariola permissionAndzrej to host him during vacations and holidays. They patiently loved him and brought him to Bible camp. There he observed the counselors’ love for God and listened to the preaching. After talking with one of the counselors, He made Christ the Lord of his life! It’s been a joy to watch him read the Word every night, change his lifestyle, and boldly witness to people in parks or on the bus. Please pray that these young men would continue to be passionate disciples of Jesus Christ.

GuysWhat an opportunity to watch the Lord change lives as his servants, Kris and Mariola, intentionally made disciples. Because they were obedient to the Great Commission, God used them.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. ~ Philippians 1:5

Team

I was challenged and overwhelmed this summer by the power of God and the faithfulness of His servants in Poland. I pray that the Lord would continue His work around the globe and in my heart.

Thank you for your part in both. To God be the glory!

2 thoughts on “Summer Summary

  1. charitys says:

    Thank you for this update. It is so encouraging to hear what God is doing there! I agree that the Kolts are wonderful examples of godly servants and it is great to hear how God is rewarding them. Thankful you had the opportunity to help again this year 🙂

  2. merrimac633 says:

    Thank you, Charity for all you did while you were there. You played such a big role and were such a blessing!

Leave a comment