Missions: the day to day

ImageAbout a week before I graduated from college and received my diploma and towel, I had a wonderful conversation with a missionary to China. I’ll never forget what he said as we parted. “Get that towel dirty in Poland!” If Jesus Christ, the greatest person in the universe, took a towel and washed the dirty feet of his disciples, how much more should I serve those around me? After all, Hebrews 12:2 calls me to live my life “…looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of my faith.” I fix my eyes on Jesus and follow His example. If he served, so should I.

Image

ImageOver the last few months I’ve been studying the book of Hebrews. The Lord has convicted me and taught me much. This post is the result of His work in my life through His Word. Chapter 12 says to “run the race that is set before us.” I specifically remember a chapel message at school in which the speaker explained this phrase. He said we could also read it as “run the race that is right at the end of your toes.” What’s at the tip of my toes when my feet hit the floor in the morning? What does missions look like every day? It’s studying Polish, preparing lesson plans, cutting/coloring illustrations, cleaning up messes, tying shoes, serving soup and goulash, washing dishes, reading stories, and singing the ABC’s a million times! Running the race with my eyes fixed on Jesus is every moment finding joy in His good pleasure…no matter what I’m doing.Image

Image I know full well that hundreds of people will not come to know Christ because I prepare a good lesson plan. However, I’m temporarily part of a team here whose goal is to provide quality education as a means to develop relationships with children and their families. It’s all a process…a long process. I may not see any fruit. THAT is why my joy is not found in “results.” My sense of worth and accomplishment must be found solely in God’s pleasure. When I lay my head on the pillow at night these are the questions that matter: How did I impress others with CHRIST? Did Christ take pleasure in me today? How dirty did I get that towel?  


“I delight to do Your will, O my God; Your law is within my heart.” Psalm 40:8

“Jesus said to them ‘my food is to do the will of him who sent me and to accomplish his work’.” John 4:34

Image

Image

 

4 thoughts on “Missions: the day to day

  1. Peggy McMillan says:

    I have loved all your updates…but this one is my favorite. They are SO CUTE!!!! And it thrills my heart to see you learning and applying God’s principles in the “day to day” service you are doing. Your creativity and love for your students is very obvious. God IS WELL PLEASED with you, Merrilee!!!  Love, Mom

  2. charitys says:

    This is a great reminder of what real service to God looks like whether one lives in a different country or not! Thanks Merrilee, keep up the good work.

  3. Mary says:

    That is just what I needed to read today… It’s good to be reminded why I do what I do… It’s for God not for me. 🙂

  4. I miss you dear Merrilee, but it makes me so happy to hear about your work and to see the dear faces being fed with God’s Word and God’s love. May the Lord bless you superabundantly and keep you in His perfect peace. love and a big hug from Joan

Leave a comment