My Top 5

It’s been a little over a year since I started this blog. I laugh now at the name. When I began Polska2013, I obviously had no intention of being in Poland longer than the summer, but God had other ideas. I’ve now been living here for almost 10 months, and it’s about time to document and share for what and whom I’m the most thankful. There’s no hierarchy; it’s just a list.

#1 – Molly Kaminski
What would I have done without Molly?! She trained me, helped me, and encouraged me continually. We had never met until we became co-teachers, roommates, and travel companions. However, she quickly became my confidant and friend. Molly completed her term here in February and is home preparing to serve in Poland with another ministry for the next 2 years. While I miss her every day, I am so thankful that the Lord brought Molly into my life!

 Image

#2 – Mariola Kolt
“Priorities!” Mariola says this word to me almost every day at work. More than any other person in my life, she has demonstrated the importance of making people (not a To Do list) the priority. With her work at the preschool and other ministries, she certainly has more than enough to do. However, I have watched her countless times sacrificially invest in the lives of others. God has been so gracious to give me such an incredible example of Christ-like service!

Image

#3 – Trip to Israel
If I were to tell you how every detail fell into place for me to tour Israel in February with a group from the States, we would be here all day. This was not an opportunity I “deserved” or “needed,” it was simply a generous, over-the-top, last-minute blessing from God. The trip has changed the way I read my Bible and view God. Here I am on the Sea of Galilee, one of the most impacting geographical areas for me.

Image

#4 – My infinite God
I fail. I’m limited. I view life in measurable portions. But my God is limited by nothing. His grace and power flow endlessly into my life in stark contrast to my frailty. Over the last few months I’ve clung to this truth. When I am overwhelmed with teaching and ministry responsibilities, when my Polish skills fall short, when I neglect time with my Savior, and when I fail to demonstrate Christ-like love, there is God. He is endlessly superior and endlessly forgiving.

Image

#5 – My Risen Savior! (and chances to talk about Him)
Resurrection Sunday is one week away. Because this is a widely celebrated holiday here in Poland, I am taking the opportunity to speak about it with all of my students this week. Many of the older students know the facts from a Roman Catholic view-point, but I’m praying for opportunities to get a little deeper. What a privilege to teach about the Giver of Life!

ImageThere are the top 5 on my thankful list, but God has given me so many other reasons to praise Him! As always, I thank you for your prayers and investment in this ministry.

Hebrews 1:10-12
“You, Lord, laid the foundation of the earth in the beginning and the heavens are the work of your hands; They will perish, but you remain; they will all wear out like a garment, like a robe you will roll them up, like a garment they will be changed. But you are the same, and your years will have NO END!”

4 thoughts on “My Top 5

  1. Lynne Jones says:

    Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂 Please give my love to the Kolts. I wish I were there, but the Lord has other, better, plans for me right now. 🙂

  2. merrimac633 says:

    I will definitely tell the Kołts you said hello! I know it’s not always easy, but keep on blooming right where you’re planted, girl! 🙂

  3. Anna says:

    Thank you, Merrilee. I’m so thankful for your opportunities to be ministered to AND to minister to others. Praying that you will continue to be a sweet aroma of Christ to those around you as you have been to me. Love you.

Leave a comment