Autumn Potpourri: A hodgepodge of highlights

                          Happy Birthday, Genesis Przedszokle! October - Happy Birthday Genesis
On October 16, 2012 Genesis Preschool officially opened with 2 students. This last Wednesday as I sat at the front desk, I had the privilege of welcoming 21 children as they came through the doors! This week was a special time to reflect on God’s past work in this place, but also to look ahead to how He could use this preschool as a springboard for reaching the community of Jaworzno for Himself. While Genesis is not a Christian preschool by name, many parents know Who we represent. Daily each one of the teachers and volunteers shows Christ to the families we serve. Would you pray for opportunities to share the gospel with parents? Also, would you pray that more and more students would enroll? Regular growth is incredibly important for financial sustainability and for relationship opportunities.

                                                   TESL Classes                                                                                                                                October - Elem. class1
Other wonderful opportunities for building relationships are the English lessons that my roommate and coordinate after our work at the preschool is complete.  I personally get to teach an elementary class as well as several teenagers and adults who love the individualized English sessions. I was so scared of these lessons at first, but now I love working one-on-one with my students studying English and getting to know them.

Language Learning: NOT for perfectionists

October - Polish book
Two evenings a week I head to the larger city nearby for Polish class. I’m so thankful for a great teacher and a small class size (only 5 of us!), but I need your prayers. I need discipline to make time for language study during the busy weeks. Also, I so want to tell my new acquaintances about the excellencies of Him who called me out of darkness into His marvelous light! (1 Peter 2:9-10)

My English side of my classroom!

My English side of the classroom!

Birthday celebration

Birthday celebration

My personal hair dressers

My personal hair dressers

Music with the younger class

Music with the younger class

Thank you for your part in my ministry! It’s a privilege to be here and partner with believers to impress the word around us with our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

“He predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of His will, to the praise of His glorious grace…”  ~ Ephesians 1:5-6  

8 thoughts on “Autumn Potpourri: A hodgepodge of highlights

  1. charitys says:

    I loved reading this! Praying for you all.

  2. Tim Reid says:

    I hate potpourri, but loved this update Merrilee. Thanks for writing this. You encourage Katie and I by sharing this ministry.

  3. Mary says:

    Yay! It’s so exciting to see how God answers prayer. Love you and praying for you all! 🙂

  4. Melanie May says:

    Merrilee, Thank you for sending us your link. It was great to see your pictures and to hear of God’s work in your ministry there in Poland. To HIM be the glory! –Mel

  5. Donna Bussell says:

    Merrilee, what a Blessing to read your update and recognize GOD is using you in such a Ministry that brings Honor and Glory to HIM!!! Ron and I continue to pray for you in a special way.

    Our Love ~
    Ron and Donna

Leave a comment